1. National Talent Search Examination or NTSE 

A national level examination cum scholarship program, it is one of most prestigious competitive exams for school students. NTSE’s focuses on students who have high academic talent and exceptional intellectual ability. It follows the NCERT prescribed syllabus covering Science, Maths, Social Science and Mental Ability. The students who qualify this two-tier exam receive cash scholarship for the complete academic year. The examination will consist of Mental Ability Test(MAT) and Scholastic Ability Test(SAT)

2. National Level Science Talent Search Exam or NLSTSE

NSTSE is a diagnostic test from classes II to XII and helps them improve their overall learning ability and educational performance. They include thinking process questions. NSTSE provides a detailed skill-wise feedback, highlighting the strengths and weaknesses of students so that immediate action can be taken to correct the aberration and pave a path for improvement.

3. Indian National Olympiad (INO)

Financially supported by the Government of India, this programme aims at promoting excellence in science and mathematics among students at school level. This Olympiads involve a five-stage procedure. The first stage for each subject is organized by the Indian Association of Physics Teachers (IAPT) in collaboration with teacher associations in other subjects. All the remaining  stages are organized by Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education (HBCSE).

4. Science Olympiad Foundation

This was established to promote science, mathematics, introductory computer education and English language skills amongst school children in India. The foundation conducts separate exams for subjects like Computer (National Cyber Olympiad), Maths (International Maths Olympiad), Science (National Science Olympiad) and English (International English Olympiad).

5. GeoGenius

To cultivate the understanding of Geography among the school students, GeoGenius was established.  Students from Class II to XII are eligible for these exams. This test is conducted in two phases. In Phase I, children participate in their respective schools throughout the country and then on the basis of cut-off, students are selected for Phase-II where they are invited to the National Finals.

6. Kishore Vigyan Protsahan Yojana (KVPY)

It is a national level competitive exam for students of classes XI and XII which is conducted with an aim to encourage students to take up research as a career in the field of Science, Engineering and Medicine. The selected students become eligible for admission to the five-year integrated MS program at the Indian Institute for Science Education and Research.

7. Silverzone Olympiads

This Olympiad aims to promote competitive awareness of academics in school students in India and abroad. Conducted for classes I to XII in various subjects, the test aims to develop creative thinking and enhance the problem-solving ability among students.

8. National Interactive Maths Olympiad (NIMO)

This national-level test includes interactive activities like interactive olympiad, workshops and seminars. Thus, NIMO works for a sole purpose to improve the mathematical skills and mental ability of school students.

9. National Biotechnology Olympiad or NBO

NBO is conducted for class I to XII with an aim to enhance the students’ knowledge about Biotechnology issues and to test their aptitude for taking up career in Biotechnology in future. The test comprises of 50 questions for 50 marks.

10. Assessment of Scholastic Skills through Educational Testing (ASSET)

ASSET is conducted for students of classes III-X, have multiple-choice questions to focus on measuring how well skills and concepts underlying the school syllabus have been understood by the students thus breaking the concept of rote learning. The test is mainly based on the CBSE, ICSE, IGCSE, and major state boards’ curriculum.


The Unified Council conducts UCO every year. UCO is a test that helps students improve their mental ability, logical reasoning and computer skills. Students in class-III to class-XII of recognised schools are eligible. Subjects are more generic and is suitable for CBSE, ICSE and state boards. The selection is done in two stages.

STAGE I: An aptitude type of exam is conducted in school level. And the selected students from each class appear for the second exam.

STAGE II: Students selected in school level appear for state level selection exam. Toppers are announced based on the stage II performance.


NSO is a national level science exam conducted by Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF). NSO rankings will be allotted based on the marks obtained. Students of class-I to class-XII are eligible to participate. Science and math syllabus as prescribed by CBSE, ICSE or various state boards. There will be four levels of exams. First will be within the school, at the city state level and above all will be the international level.


NSEJS is jointly conducted by IAPT (Indian Association of Physics Teachers) and HBCSE (Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Examination). All Indian students of class-I to X. Subjects and curriculum of CBSE and ICSE boards. Mainly focussed on science and generic content. The selection is first made at the school level. And the qualifying students then are then appeared for the national round.


The main aim of this exam is to search for science talents in students. Only students studying classes VI and IX are eligible for this exam. The exam covers the subjects and topics covered in curriculum up to class VI and class IX.

STAGE I: Written test

STAGE II: Practical skill test

FINAL STAGE: Oral test i.e. the interview and submission of action research report.  


RMO is an exam jointly conducted by IAPT (Indian Association of Physics Teachers) and HBCSE (Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Examination). Students of classes XI & XII of recognised schools are eligible. The main focus of this exam is mathematics and based on CBSE curriculum. It is held at the school level and the topper are selected and awarded accordingly.