Central Universities (DU, BHU, JNU, Jamia Milia and others) : Common Entrance Test 2021

In a move, that could be a potential game changer for the higher education in India, government has recommended to conduct a Common Entrance Test (CUCET) for the 54 Central Universities from the academic session 2021-2022. This may come as a surprise to many, but the move aimed at reducing the pressure of higher cut offs in most of the reputed central universities, has been in the talks for a long time now. However, the National Education Policy (NEP), which aims to bring radical changes to the education set up in the country, paved the way for the Common Entrance Test.
There are 54 Central Universities in India at the moment including University of Delhi (DU), Jawahar Lal Nehru University (JNU), Banaras Hindu University (BHU, etc.  While the news may have surprised the common man, unknown to many, there is already a Common Entrance Test for the 13 newly established Central Universities across different states. While the current CUCET has been conducted once a year in offline mode, the newly planned Central Universities Common Entrance Test will be conducted in online mode by the National Testing Agency (NTA). To start with the test will be conducted once for the academic session 2020-21, but from the subsequent years, test will be conducted twice in a year giving students an opportunity to improve their scores if needed.
List of Central Universities in India:
While some of the Central Universities have been established in last two decades, a majority of the Universities are already established name including the prestigious University of Delhi. University of Allahabad is the oldest of them all, having been established in the year 1887 and becoming a Central University in the year 2005.

University State Location Established
University of Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Prayagraj 1887 (2005)
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University Bihar Samastipur 1905 (2016)
Banaras Hindu University Uttar Pradesh Varanasi 1916
Aligarh Muslim University Uttar Pradesh Aligarh 1920
Jamia Millia Islamia Delhi New Delhi 1920 (1988)
Visva-Bharati University West Bengal Santiniketan 1921
University of Delhi Delhi New Delhi 1922
Dr. Hari Singh Gour University Madhya Pradesh Sagar 1946 (2009)
National Sanskrit University[note 3] Andhra Pradesh Tirupati 1956 (2020)
English and Foreign Languages University Telangana Hyderabad 1958 (2007)
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University Delhi New Delhi 1962 (2020)
Jawaharlal Nehru University Delhi New Delhi 1969
Central Sanskrit University Delhi New Delhi 1970 (2020)
North Eastern Hill University Meghalaya Shillong 1973
Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University Uttarakhand Srinagar 1973 (2009)
University of Hyderabad Telangana Hyderabad 1974
Manipur University Manipur Imphal 1980 (2005)
Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya Chhattisgarh Bilaspur 1983 (2009)
Indira Gandhi National Open University Delhi New Delhi 1985
Pondicherry University Puducherry Pondicherry 1985
Rajiv Gandhi University Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar 1985 (2007)
Tripura University Tripura Agartala 1987
Central Agricultural University Manipur Imphal 1993
Assam University Assam Silchar 1994
Tezpur University Assam Tezpur 1994
Nagaland University Nagaland Lumami 1994
Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar University Uttar Pradesh Lucknow 1996
Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya Maharashtra Wardha 1997
Maulana Azad National Urdu University Telangana Hyderabad 1998
Mizoram University Mizoram Aizawl 2000
Indira Gandhi National Tribal University Madhya Pradesh Amarkantak 2007
Sikkim University Sikkim Gangtok 2007
Indian Maritime University Tamil Nadu Chennai 2008
Central University of South Bihar Bihar Gaya 2009
Central University of Gujarat Gujarat Gandhinagar 2009
Central University of Haryana Haryana Mahendragarh 2009
Central University of Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Dharamsala 2009
Central University of Kashmir Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar 2009
Central University of Jharkhand Jharkhand Ranchi 2009
Central University of Karnataka Karnataka Kalaburagi 2009
Central University of Kerala Kerala Kasaragod 2009
Central University of Odisha Odisha Koraput 2009
Central University of Punjab Punjab Bathinda 2009
Central University of Rajasthan Rajasthan Ajmer 2009
Central University of Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Tiruvarur 2009
Nalanda University Bihar Rajgir, Nalanda 2010
South Asian University Delhi New Delhi 2010
Central University of Jammu Jammu and Kashmir Jammu 2011
Rajiv Gandhi National Aviation University Uttar Pradesh Raebareli 2013
Rani Lakshmi Bai Central Agricultural University Uttar Pradesh Jhansi 2014
Mahatma Gandhi Central University Bihar Motihari 2016
National Sports University Manipur Imphal 2018
Central Tribal University of Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Vizianagaram 2019
Central University of Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Anantapur 2019

Central Universities Common Entrance Test Exam Pattern:
While the government has formed an expert committee to look into the modalities of the exam, it is expected that the Common Entrance Test for admissions to Central Universities is expected to have an aptitude element along with a subject being tested depending on the course being sought.
The aptitude test is expected to test one’s reasoning and numerical abilities and it’s likely that the newly envisaged test may have 100 questions comprising the following areas: Numerical Ability & Data Interpretation, General English, Logical Reasoning and General Awareness. The current format of CUCET has 100 questions on the above areas and the exam is conducted once a year.

Subject No. of Questions Max. Marks
General English 100 100
Numerical Ability and Data Interpretation
Logical and Analytical Reasoning
General Awareness

Stay tuned for more updates.