Home / NSE Certification

NSE Certification

National Stock Exchange of India provides National Certification in Financial Markets (NCFM) which imparts expertise to operate in financial markets and also helps tremendously to establish a business in stock market and work for an established stock broking company or Equity & Derivative projects. NSE certification imparts insights about the functions and techniques of capital market. NCFM program is an online testing and certification program that tests practical knowledge and skills required to work in the financial markets. It is administered through designated test centers located across India. Finance professionals such as Portfolio Managers, Stock Analysts, Brokers, employees of investment divisions of financial institutions pursue NSE certification to enhance their theoretical as well as practical knowledge.

Certifications offered under NCFM

1.NCFM modules

  • Foundation (12 certifications)
  • Intermediate (26 certifications)
  • Advanced (12 certifications)

2.Proficiency Certificates

On completion of certain combinations of NCFM modules, candidates earn a Proficiency Certificate that indicates their expertise in that particular area.

  • NSE Certified Derivatives Pro (NCDP)

    Qualifying criteria: Passing NCFM Equity Derivatives: A Beginners' Module + Derivatives Market (Dealers) Module + Options Trading Strategies Module.

  • NSE Certified Derivatives Champion (NCDC)

    Qualifying criteria: Passing NCFM Equity Derivatives: A Beginners' Module + Derivatives Market (Dealers) Module + Options Trading Strategies Module + Option Trading (Advanced) Module.

  • NSE Certified Investment Analyst Pro (NCIAP)

    Qualifying criteria: Passing NCFM Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management Module + Technical Analysis Module + Fundamental Analysis Module.

  • NSE Certified Investment Analyst Champion (NCIAC)

    Qualifying criteria: Passing NCFM Investment Analysis and Portfolio Management Module + Technical Analysis Module + Fundamental Analysis Module + Wealth Management Module.

  • NSE Certified Market Professional (NCMP)

    Qualifying criteria: There are 5 levels NCMP certificates that are issued to the candidates who have cleared some specific number of NCFM modules. Details of various levels and number of modules required to be cleared for that level:

NCMP Level 1 3 - 4 modules
NCMP Level 2 5 - 6 modules
NCMP Level 1 7 - 8 modules
NCMP Level 1 9 - 10 modules
NCMP Level 1 11 or more modules

Not all modules are considered for NCMP certification. List of eligible modules can be found on the NSE official website.

3. NSE's Capital Market Aptitude Test (NCMAT)

4. NSE Certified Capital Market Professional (NCCMP) & Online NSE Certified Capital Market Professional (E - NCCMP)

5. Post Graduate Courses are offered by NSE through collaboration with various universities (8 courses)

NCFM Exam Details

NCFM modules are divided into three categories including Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced levels. Each module caters to a particular area of finance domain with varying degree of expertise. Candidates can choose certification in any module of their choice.

The tests are conducted every day on weekdays (except on Exchange specified holidays) at all the six NSEIL offices (Mumbai, New Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Hyderabad, and Ahmedabad). Depending upon the demand, the tests can also be conducted from any other location in India. Test fees are valid for six months from the date of payment. Candidates need to enroll for the test within six months from the date of payment of fees.

These are multiple choice questions-based exams. The examination system is automated and results are provided on the stop. If successful, candidates get the certificates usually within 15-20 days of appearing for the exam.

The certificate remains valid for 5 years from the date of the test for all modules except Derivatives Market (Dealers) Module, Commodities Market Module, Information Security Auditors Module, AMFI- Mutual Fund (Basic) Module, Risk Analysis & Insurance Planning Module, Retirement Planning & Employee Benefits Module, Investment Planning Module and Tax Planning & Estate Planning Module.


There are no qualifications or age restrictions for registration to the NCFM programme. However, candidates are expected to be comfortable with written English and should have basic computer literacy.

NSE Certification Benefits

The NSE certifications offer great benefits to individuals who want to have a career in banking and finance. Even if an individual is from a non-finance background and wants to venture in the financial markets, these certifications can be quite useful.

Some of the NSE Certification Benefits include:

  • Enhanced Career Prospects
    NSE certifications are provided by well-recognised institutions like SEBI and BSE. They will make your CV stand out and enhance your chances of getting selected for the finance roles. NCFM modules are designed to include various aspects of financial services and offer enhanced skills to individuals engaged in relevant roles.
  • Steady start towards a finance career
    These certificates help the candidates gain insights and knowledge of various aspects of financial markets. The beginner module covers basic concepts relating to various investment avenues, derivatives markets, primary & secondary markets, financial statement analysis, etc. The modules cater to individuals with varied levels of finance expertise. Individuals who are interested in making a career in finance can benefit from the wide range of modules.
  • Specialisation in the domain
    Candidates can choose to complete certain combinations of the NCFM modules and earn proficiency certificates, signalling their expertise in the specific domain. This will enhance their knowledge of financial concepts and will also open door to several career opportunities.